

Buckinghamshire County Council Select Committee

Environment, Transport and Locality Services

Date: Wednesday 18 December 2013

Time: 2.30 pm

Venue: Council Chamber, Aylesbury Town Council, Church Street, Aylesbury,

HP20 2QP

AGENDA

2.00 pm Pre-meeting Discussion

This session is for members of the Committee only. It is to allow the members time to discuss lines of questioning, areas for discussion and what needs to be achieved during the meeting.

2.30 pm Formal Meeting Begins

Agenda Item		Time	Page No
1	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE	14.30	
2	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST To disclose any personal or disclosable pecuniary interests.	14.35	
3	CHAIRMAN'S INTRODUCTION The Chairman of the Committee will briefly outline the call- in process and the purpose for the meeting.	14.40	





4 CALL IN - DAWS HILL AREA TRAVEL LINK

This is an opportunity for the Member submitting the Call-In, Lesley Clarke OBE, to highlight why she wishes to call in the Cabinet Member decision and for the Cabinet Member and/or relevant officer to respond to the Local Member's call-in submission (10 minutes each).

1 - 12

14.50

Papers which witnesses have asked to be provided

- Notice of Member Call-In in accordance with Paragraph 20 of the Constitution under Select Committee Standing Orders
- Cabinet Member Report (attached)
- Please see link below to report and following appendices
 - PT11.13 report
 - Daws Hill Preliminary Estimate Rev B Final
 - Daws Hill Preliminary Estimate Option 2 Rev 0
 - Preliminary Design Report Rev A Final checked
 - Environmental Scoping Report Rev A Final checked
 - Phase 1 Habitat Survey Rev A Final checked
 - Preliminary Geo-environmental Report Rev A Final - checked
 - call-in request form

http://democracy.buckscc.gov.uk/ieDecisionDetails.aspx?ID=3276

 Strategic Plan (Our special environment, Speaking up for Residents)

http://www.buckscc.gov.uk/media/681808/Strategic-Plan-2013.pdf http://intranet/svc_corporate_groups/corporate_initiatives/new_vision.htm

- Southern Quadrant Transport Strategy Document http://tinyurl.com/k98zvm8
- Daws Hill Area Travel Link: response to the Cabinet Member on issues raised following a site visit on the 21st October 2013
- Slide presentation (to be circulated at the meeting)
- 2013 Air Quality Progress Report <u>http://tinyurl.com/ndb72vt</u>
- News release WDC: Pioneering motorway noise barrier study moves

forward

http://tinyurl.com/pvht4qg http://tinyurl.com/p3pb7nm

 Large scale area map of the SQTS (to be available at the meeting)

- Guidelines used for Local authorities and Groups "Human Rights Act"
- Article 8: Human rights: human lives, Ministry of Justice, Handbook for Public Authorities http://tinyurl.com/pgg6a47

5 CALL IN - CONSIDERATION OF THE REQUEST

15.10

Following discussion of the Call In request, the Committee will then decide whether the decision should be called in.

This is also an opportunity for the Committee to ask questions of those present for points of clarity.

6 CALL IN SUBMISSION

15.25

During this session:

The Local Member can call upon witnesses to supplement her written and verbal evidence.

Witnesses will be allotted 30 minutes in total to speak to the Committee.

Witnesses

Councillor Mrs L M Clarke OBE, Local Member for Abbey Councillor Mr Roger Reed Councillor Mr David Watson Mr Tony Fooks, High Wycombe Society Mr Ken Edwards, M40 Group Mr Dave Inman, Daws Hill Neighbourhood Forum Mr Stewart Armstrong, Daws Hill Neighbourhood Forum

The Cabinet Member can call upon witnesses to supplement her written and verbal evidence.

BCC delegates will be allotted 30 minutes in total to speak to the Committee.

Bucks County Council

Janet Blake, Cabinet Member for Planning & Transportation John Lamb – Service Director, Place Service Stephen Walford – Senior Manager, Place Service Ryan Bunce – Service Lead Officer, Policy, Strategy and Development Dave Roberts – Team Leader, Transport Systems, Transport for Buckinghamshire

Richard Smith - Technical Director, Jacobs UK Ltd

7 DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING

16.45

The next meeting is due to take place on Tuesday 4 February 2014, 10.00am in Mezzanine 2, County Offices, Aylesbury.

There will be a pre-meeting for Committee Members at 9.30am.

8 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

To resolve to exclude the press and public as the following item is exempt by virtue of Paragraph 3 of Part 1 of Schedule 12a of the Local Government Act 1972 because it contains information relating to the financial or business affairs of any particular person (including the authority holding that information)

9 CONFIDENTIAL BACKGROUND PAPERS

13 - 24

This is an opportunity for the Committee to discuss the confidential appendix if necessary.

Purpose of the committee

The Environment, Transport and Locality Services Select Committee shall carry out scrutiny functions for all policies and services relating to environment, transport and locality services, including: Environmental sustainability; Planning & development; Transportation; Road maintenance; Locality services; Community cohesion; Countryside services; Waste, recycling and treatment; Trading standards; Resilience (emergency planning); Voluntary & community sector; Drugs and alcohol issues; and Crime and disorder and crime and disorder reduction partnerships (community safety partnerships).

In accordance with the BCC Constitution, the Environment, Transport and Locality Services Select Committee shall also sit as the designated Crime and Disorder Committee and will hold the countywide Crime and Disorder Reduction Partnership (known as the Safer Bucks Partnership) to account for the decisions it takes and to take part in joint reviews with District Councils of District Crime and Disorder Reduction Partnerships.

If you would like to attend a meeting, but need extra help to do so, for example because of a disability, please contact us as early as possible, so that we can try to put the right support in place.

For further information please contact: Sharon Griffin or Maureen Keyworth on 01296 383691 / 3603; Fax No 01296 382538; Email sgriffin@buckscc.gov.uk / mkeyworth@buckscc.gov.uk

Members

Mr W Bendyshe-Brown
Mr D Dhillon
Mr T Butcher
Mr D Gomm
Mr D Carroll (VC)
Mr S Lambert
Mr W Chapple OBE
Mr W Whyte (C)



